Second/Third Grade

by authorameai

I cannot remember much from second grade besides the fact that my original teacher left us to become a principal and the substitute teacher became our permanent teacher. I also remember that it was a good year. There are two people I remember from third grade: a girl who become class president in elementary school and  an Asian girl who dyed her hair reddish in high school and ended up selling cutlery after high school. There was also a girl and her sister who I didn’t know until high school. They happened to go to my church, but I didn’t realize that they was in my elementary school when I was in third grade.

Girl Scouts

Girl Scouts of the United States of America

I gave a very long speech about Juliette Gordon Low, the founder of the Girl Scouts of America. I do not ever remember working on a speech as diligently as I did with this speech. I never believed that I really went camping because I didn’t experience the traditional Boy Scout ideal of survival in the wilderness even though I have gone to so-called camps. I went to one camp with my elementary school class called Camp Klemock, a camp that had a thing called a zip wire, but most of the times I went to camping trips with the Girl Scouts. Most of our “camping” experiences were lame, as they were in the backyard of my aunt’s house, so that my aunt could make sure that we would not get into too much trouble. I also remember having flag ceremonies. It was an honor for me to carry the flag that I could hardly lift, as if I were an altar boy.

Learning About Art

I enjoyed when the art teacher would come to visit the class. We had lots of fun with paint and clay and with that we would create ceramic pottery. For example, I would make a mug with a dragon’s neck as the handle. I remember that Mom came to class one day, and I painted an impressionist painting with tempura (or acrylic) paint. I wanted to do something that has never been done before so I painted an impressionist lightning bolt striking a ship. I knew enough about art to include the reflection of the ship in the water, and I remembered feeling somehow more advanced than my peers because of that. This proved how I was unique at a young age.

Learning About Language

I read many books. One day, right before naptime, I remembered that someone told me to guess at the pronunciation of a term I did not know before asking someone how to pronounce it. I tried this, and I pronounced many new terms perfectly because I knew enough about the English language to understand English pronunciation. When I was young, I used to have a big head because I knew many English terms before many people did. When I was on the playground, I remember looking over an Onyx girl’s shoulder whose name was Mandy Reuter, who happened to be in my Girl Scout troop. I said that I could spell all the vocabulary terms that were in her textbook. She was in sixth grade, and I was quite a few grades below her. She got annoyed and asked me if I could spell “Mediterranean.” I was dumbfounded and had absolutely no idea how to spell it.

Learning About Pressure

I took ballet from when I was age four until I was age eight. I did not enjoy it that much. The last day I was holding back tears because I no longer wanted to attend ballet. Mom said that she has since felt guilty about it. The experience is always with me, how I felt that I had to do things to please my parents, and how it made me so unhappy. Later, Dad would accuse me of being a quitter, citing ballet as an instance.

Pioneer Day

We had a few days at the end of the school year in which the class would have a historical, educational experience. Pioneer Day was the only one I can vaguely remember. I remember that we would dress up in old clothing in order to enhance the experience. That day I learned how to make candles by dipping them in candle wax, and I learned how to make snickerdoodle cookies. I also played with a hoop and a stick, which was not all that fun.

Learning More About Discrimination

The last experience I did not actually remember, but it had been told to me several times. One day in third grade, I told Mom that someone said the “f” word. She was thinking, “Oh my God!” I continued with my story, and I told her that some boy called a girl “fat.” (I always used the word “circles” instead.) She was much relieved.

