Sixth Grade

by authorameai

Learning About Music (See Fourth Grade)

Faye, Paula, and I created a singing group called the 4 Leaf Clovers, because we liked to look for four-leaf clovers, though I have never found one in my life. Here is what I remember from our songs:

“Sunday Driver”
[…] Get our bags all ready.
Hope we’re driving with Eveready.
Gonna need a big battery charge
Cos we’re moving slow as a barge.
CHORUS:
Cos they’re Sunday drivers,
The worst of their kind.
Sunday drivers,
The worst you can find.

“It’s a Mess”
In my room it looks like a big bomb went off.
[…] lots of stuff.
Dust bunnies lie on the floor ever what may.
It looks like a small trash heap in a big way.
CHORUS:
Cos It’s a mess! Doo doo doo, doo doo doo,
Doo doo doo doo : ||

“Stress”11
Ooo ooo ooo ooo
Boom boom chic
Nyeer nyeer nyeer : ||
(Rapping:)
I ate my head last night […]

“Little Ant”
Little ant
Little little ant ooo : ||

“Nooshkateeg”
Cacapoopoo eats the nipchee
Nooshkateegjie weegie blah
Ren, Stimpy, and the kiwi invisible.

A Variety of Clubs

I was in a variety of clubs that I helped to make out of my imagination. We named one of the clubs B.C.B.G. (I forgot what it stood for). The symbol for it was a bee, and we created it as a club to exclude certain people who were not in favor of the group. We named another club D.U.S.T. One day, in an area called “the Dungeon,” named so because it was dark and at the bottom of a wooden playground, light would creep in between the wooden slates and by the light you could see bits of dust clearly. “The Dungeon” had aliens painted on the walls, so Faye and I made up that the dust was a bunch of miniature aliens. My code name was “A..-…E,” inspired by Morse code. Meeting places for these clubs were in various places around the playground. We had an unusual playground that consisted of wooden structures connected by monkey bars and old tires. Some tires were arranged like boxes, a perfect place for secret meetings, and some tires were halfway into the ground, to act as stepping-stones. The gravel-covered playground also had swings, a straight slide, a circular slide, two poles, and an amphitheatre. In the smaller playground in the back of the school, nearby where we did the mile run, there was a painted metal spider and many campers.

Learning Social Responsibility

We used to have a blaming joke. We would say such and such “ is all your fault,” and we would fill in the blank with outrageous things like World War I and World War II (The Great Warning). We would try to see who could say something the most outrageous. This was actually a good learning ground for social responsibility.

Learning About Modesty

I was raised up to be excessively modest. I was excessively modest about nudity because I was taught to be. I remember one time that I was camping with the Girl Scouts, and I had to go inside a dark closet in order to change; I was that modest.

My Interest in Boys (See Kindergarten)

My interest in unusual boys had already started out at an early age (kindergarten), but I became quickly disgusted with accepted male beauty because those were the types of boys who would make fun of me to no end. I think I began liking unusual guys when I had a crush on a new kid with long lashes whom everyone avoided, who wore spandex to the pool. When Paula asked him for a pen, he told her it was in his back pocket. This is sixth grade! Though he was not attractive, his actions were by far sexier because he was not accepted, and he did not care. These people make much more interesting conversationalists. If you cannot converse well and continue to be interesting, then there is no hope for a relationship.

Learning About Sex

This was a year of sexual exploration. We had taken sex education, in which I asked the most questions, and we would discuss who had started their period during sleepovers. I was one of the first to have had mine, and I think it caused some jealousy. I was very fascinated with sex. I was fluent in the raunchiest sex jokes and knew most of the terminology and the many ways of saying “penis.” The Weirdo Club for some time became the Pen15 club (and was not the first one in existence). The Weirdo Club also broke into two parts: The Weirdo Club (consisting of Faye, Paula, and me) and the Weird but not Obsessed Club (Catheryn, Dan Smith, Scotty Ledger, Jase Rudder, Anne Chili, Cindy Grant, and Moselle Medford).

Learning About Being an Outcast

One day I saw a yellow jacket, a type of bee, and I let it crawl on my pinky finger. Everyone avoided me because I had a bee on my finger, and people asked me why I would want that bee on my finger. I did not see what was so bad about having a bee on my finger.

Oral Presentations
In sixth grade, the class was introduced to Toastmasters (which focuses on oral presentations). Later in life, my dad joined Toastmasters because he enjoyed making oral presentations. The presentations I gave were about accused witches of the Salem Trials, The Beatles, and Shetland Sheepdogs. One time when I was evaluating the oral presentation of a boy named Ethan Boghosian, he accused me of bias because I did not evaluate him favorably. I was just being honest, but ever since, I felt he disliked me. I was continually trying to be nice to him, but he never seemed to understand. I think we could have gotten along well because I found him attractive, and he seemed to me the outcast type since he wore a Mohawk in high school, but I was always too afraid that I would be met with resistance.

Learning About Popularity
I had a typical adolescence and pre-adolescence consisting of sleepovers, Truth or Dare, and prank phone calls as well as poring over fashion magazines and drooling over guys. Many things happened in sixth grade. This year I lived in the world of popularity, though it only lasted this year. I began to believe as a child that the number of friends one had raised one’s status. Sixth grade was the first time I felt popular because I was in a group of people, the Weirdo Club, and not being by myself and one other person. I started to get a big head and would be rude and push people out of the way. I have since learned that it is better to have one good friend than a bunch of acquaintances, but I have never been able to make my subconscious believe the truth. Even during that year in sixth grade, when I felt more well-known, I did not ever really know the people who hung out with me; it was all about a feeling of being outgoing. (That is a great feeling but gets in the way of love.)


